See The Complete Winners’ List –

- in World Entertainment

The 2021 Soul Train Music Awards, presented by BET, went down on Sunday night (Nov. 28). Held at New York City’s historic Apollo Theater, the pre-taped celebration featured performances by some of today’s stars in R&B, soul, and gospel.

To kick the night off, Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak delivered a nostalgic number on a Soul Train-designed stage before a dancing audience (Did you catch the Soul Train scramble board?). Shortly after, hosting duo Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell performed a choreographed medley of their own—oh, hey, El DeBarge—and provided comic relief in between award presentations and more. Musiq Soulchild, Tone Stitch, Koryn Hawthorne, Jac Ross, and Elle Varner vibed to the instrumental of an Aaliyah tune in a soul cypher spun by DJ D-Nice.

Jazmine Sullivan took home the first televised award of the evening for Best R&B / Soul Female Artist and won another trophy for Album of the Year. Ashanti accepted the Lady of Soul Award before performing hits from her discography with guest appearances from JaRule and Fat Joe. New artists like Marzz and Elhae took the BET Amplified stage for their first televised numbers and Maxwell brought the emotion as he accepted the Living Legend Award before taking the stage with songs from his 25-plus career.

See the full list of tonight’s winners below.

Song of the Year

Blxst feat. Ty Dolla $Ign & Tyga – “Chosen”
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”
H.E.R. – “Damage”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”
Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Album of the Year

Blxst – No Love Lost
Doja Cat – Planet Her
Giveon – When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time
H.E.R. – Back of My Mind
Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales — WINNER
Wizkid – Made in Lagos

Video of the Year

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open” — WINNER
Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
H.E.R. – “Damage”
Jazmine Sullivan – “Pick Up Your Feelings”
Normani feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys
Doja Cat
Jazmine Sullivan — WINNER
Jhené Aiko

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Chris Brown
Lucky Daye

Best Collaboration

Chris Brown, Young Thug feat. Future, Lil Durk, Latto – “Go Crazy (Remix)”
Doja Cat feat. SZA – “Kiss Me More”
H.E.R. feat. Chris Brown – “Come Through”
Jazmine Sullivan feat. H.E.R. – “Girl Like Me”
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”
Yung Bleu feat. Drake – “You’re Mines Still”

Best New Artist

Capella Grey
Tone Stith
Yung Bleu — WINNER

Certified Soul Award

Anthony Hamilton
Charlie Wilson
The Isley Brothers
Jam & Lewis

Best Dance Performance

Chloe X Halle – “Ungodly Hour”
Chris Brown, Young Thug – “City Girls”
Lizzo Feat. Cardi B – “Rumors”
Normani Feat. Cardi B- “Wild Side” — WINNER
Usher – “Bad Habits”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Brian Courtney Wilson
James Fortune
Kelly Price
Kirk Franklin
Maverick City Music
Tasha Cobbs Leonard

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Can’t Let It Show” – written by: Kate Bush, Durrell Babbs (Tank)
“Come Through” – written by: Carl Mccormick, Chris Brown, H.E.R., Kelvin Wooten, Michael L. Williams Ii, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R. Feat. Chris Brown)
“Damage” – written by: Anthony Clemons Jr., Carl Mccormick, H.E.R., James Harris, Jeff Gitelman, Terry Lewis, Tiara Thomas (H.E.R.)
“Essence” – written by: Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, Oniko Eddie Uzezi, Oniko Evawero, Richard Isong, Temilade Openiyi (Wizkid Feat. Tems)
“Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)
“Pick Up Your Feelings” – written by: Blue June, Chi, Audra Mae Butts, Jazmine Sullivan, Kyle Coleman, Michael Holmes (Jazmine Sullivan)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like

Actor Patrick Shai’s death: Family speaks out

South African veteran actor Patrick Shai has died.